No Magic Pill

Knowledge + effort + time = success

Quick update

Posted by Ben on Friday, June 19, 2009

Greetings and salutations, folks. Just wanted to give a heads-up on what’s been going on here lately (read: this is why I haven’t been and likely won’t be posting much for a bit).

1. I completed the YFS1 certification from the IYCA a couple weeks ago and have since been working on YFS2. Higher level means more in-depth study, and while I’m borderline giddy at the authors included in the textbook, it’s still a lot of reading, and I’d like to be done with this certification level by the end of July.

2. At the same time, I’m learning how to form and run a business, mostly the “form” part, so that’s a lot of reading and planning as well, right now mostly planning to plan the plan. When I start to take on clients, I want everything to be self-sufficient, self-explanatory, and self-perpetuating (read: I want to run the training sessions and not have to worry too much with the business side of things).

3. I’m so far behind on my blog and article reading that it’d be funny if it were funny, but I’ve had my nose stuck in so many other books that I’m doing well just to keep up with my daily comics. I apologize for not even keeping up with my “Recent Clicks” section, which has languished over the past week or more. I’m hopeful of getting caught up on that over the weekend.

So, not that there was much worth reading here at it was, and I know I’ve said before how I was tailing off the posting only to turn around and whip out a couple in quick succession, but I’m pretty sure posts will be sparse for a bit. However, once things are up and running with the biz, I’ll actually have some, oh I dunno, informed, semi-niche writing to pass along (shocking, I know).

On the bright side, I HAVE resumed regular training of my own, so go me :)

2 Responses to “Quick update”

  1. Roland said

    Sounds like you got some good stuff going on, Ben!

  2. Ben said

    It’s a lot of fun, and I’m happy to be doing it, but it’s just a LOT of work, much more than I would’ve thought before I started. I know it’ll be worth it, though. More focused, progressive work now to mitigate a lot of stress down the road.

Leave a Reply

 
